File locations

Each user has his own dedicated private folder on the server. That private folder will always contain a documents folder, which serves as the default storage location. Users who have the right to create templates, will also have a private library folder. From a technical point of view there is no difference between a user’s documents and library folder — but in practice, it is recommended to only use the library folder to store files that are intended to be reused in the future. Files for which the lifespan is intended to be short, or which are considered work-in-progress, should instead be stored in the documents folder.

Each user can be part of one or more groups within a customer. Typically, such group corresponds to a user’s department or unit (e.g., labour law or corporate law), but cross-departmental units with users from various other units, are also possible (e.g., an aviation group with experts from various legal fields). Each group can have its own group library folder, in which files can be stored that relate to that group.

By default, users will only have the right to use the items in the groups they belong to: only the customer’s administrator can create or modify files in the group library. Conversely, users outside a group cannot access the files of that group. These default settings can be changed by the administrator on a group-level.

Each customer will also have its own customer library folder, in which files can be stored that are relevant to many of the customer’s users.

Similar to the group library, by default only the customer’s administrator can create or change files in the customer library, while all users of the customer can use (but not modify) those files. These default settings can be changed by the administrator.


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs